Wash. Post: DeMatha to MD pipeline. 13 DM players on Terps in ‘19

BigDrop

13 hours ago, BigDrop said:

They need to recruit other local schools better...they were a 5-7 team that other than the great effort vs Ohio State lost to Indiana and got blasted by Temple, Iowa, Michigan, Michigan St and Penn St. All DeMatha guys is not enough to compete in the Big 10.

• Like 1

4 hours ago, BigDrop said:

MD has a strong tradition with NJ dating at least  to the ‘50’s.  (I graduated in ‘72.) I must also note that today MD is considered academically one of the best state universities in America ranked #28 of all universities by Money magazine for 2018.

I'm aware of all you mentioned, but what do you think is going to happen if a kid from NJ plays the same position as a kid from Damatha? Do you really think they are going to sh*t on the home town kid if the kid is not as good as the NJ kid, but the kid is good enough for no one to question him being out there?

I believe the head coach will go with who he believes will do the best job regardless of where they are from.  The former DeMatha coach is running backs coach and frankly I can’t imagine anyone from anywhere starting ahead of Anthony McFarland who ran for almost 300 yards against Ohio State.

I have a bias-as noted I am a MD alum.  But this is an outstanding university whose degree will long be respected around the U.S. I also wouldn’t mind being 18 years old again and starting over at MD especially if I could live on campus.  FWIW their engineering and business schools are among the best in America.

I have a great deal of respect for getting the best education you can regardless of how one performs on the field.

And, FWIW, DeMatha’s rising sr qb is reported to have offers from Yale, Princeton And Columbia. For me I could care less if Alabama or Ohio State offers him.  He should go to the Ivy League.

I also have too many opinions.😁

• Haha 1

9 hours ago, BigDrop said:

(I graduated in ‘72.)