The Stock Market

DarterBlue

Today’s market action was significant. Based on the criteria I use, a buy (go long) signal was flashed loud and clear. Now to be precise, I am an intermediate term trader. I am looking to make money off the trends for the next three to six months. So, my buy signal is predicated on that. If you were to ask me about my opinions of the economy and, indeed, the overall state of America’s societal fabric I would be far less sanguine. But my trading is divorced from what my longer-term overarching opinion of fundamentals are. It is based solely on the shorter to intermediate term opinion of where the market is likely to trend.  

Today was a beautiful day for those with a bullish opinion. All major indices closed significantly higher; volume was significantly higher; breadth was nearly 10-1 positive on the NYSE and over 5-1 positive on the NASDAQ. Further, stocks closed right at day highs. In short, the day was flawless and such days usually herald further upside in the days, weeks and months ahead. Do I think the bear market is over and we will be at new highs before the year is over? Hell if I know! What I do know is that there is at least a 75% probability that the lows seen on March 23, 2020, two short weeks ago, will not be taken out over the next several months and that stocks will be higher at the end of June.  

Today, the averages gained from 6.42% on the NYSE to 8.24% on the Russell. Given the steep gains it is likely the averages may pull back a bit tomorrow. And that, in my opinion gives great cover to go long. So, as long as we don’t get a violent selloff tomorrow, by mid-afternoon, I expect I will have purchased several long positions. I intend to go long July Calls on at least two of the major indices. I will likely also purchase TEAM, JD, LUV and a few other individual positions.